Capabilities Corporate Private Equity
Private Equity
Our Private Equity/ M &A  attorneys counsel leading funds, independent sponsors, companies, institutional investors, family offices and high net worth individuals through all phases of their private equity, M&A and investment fund transactions. Why choose Lippes Mathias Wexler Friedman?

Significant Expertise:
Our law firm is a leading New York-based full service law firm with extensive transaction experience. Out of our 110+ attorneys, half practice transactional law (private equity, M&A, venture capital, investment funds, etc.). We routinely assist clients throughout the country in structuring, negotiating and successfully closing their middle market deals ranging from $1 million to $100+ million.

Value: Our attorneys have tremendous transactional expertise – but without the overhead of a larger firm, hence we offer a much stronger value proposition. In fact, a number of our laterals have joined from larger regional or Am Law 100 firms to provide higher value and cost-effective counsel.

Trusted Advisor: Our firm has a tremendous 50+ year legacy helping thousands of clients successfully close transactions. Our clients appreciate the practical and pro-active approach we take as legal counsel on their deals. A number of our team members have been ranked for excellence by Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business; The Best Lawyers in America©; Super Lawyers®; Leading M&A Lawyers; Leading Closely Held Business Lawyers; and Dealmaker of the Year.

Relationships/Connections: Because of our lengthy history of providing transaction services, we have relationships with a number of leading players in the deal community (lenders, investment bankers, placement agents, consultants, accountants, strategic partners, etc.) and we are happy to make introductions as appropriate.

Full Service: As a full service law firm, we are able to engage attorneys from any of our more than 26 practice areas when appropriate to advise on finance, tax, labor / employee benefits, executive compensation, real estate, environmental, intellectual property, antitrust, health care, commercial litigation, regulatory and securities matters.

For any questions on how we can assist, please contact John Koeppel, Leader of the Private Equity Team at 716-262-9330 / 646-673-8633 or jkoeppel@lippes.com, or you are welcome to reach out to your LMWF relationship contact.

Acquisitions, Private Equity Investments and
Co-Investments


  • Represent clients on their acquisitions of companies, many of which are leveraged acquisitions ranging from $1 million to $100+ million of enterprise value. Our attorneys have wide transactional experience in multiple industries, including manufacturing, technology, health care, education, consumer products, business services, food and beverage, and energy.
  • Represent sponsors and portfolio companies in connection with their roll-up acquisitions.
  • Extensive representations of companies conducting a sale or divestiture of their business (whether stock, asset, merger or other, in both proprietary processes and auction sales).
  • Represent venture capital firms and/or companies on venture capital financings.
  • Advised sponsors and companies on growth equity investments.
  • Counsel on equity and debt financings/ restructurings of portfolio companies, including dividend recapitalizations.
  • Represent individuals or groups in management-led buy-outs of companies.
  • Extensive experience representing various clients in their co-investment transactions.
  • Familarity with M&A representation and warranty insurance. 

Fund Formation
  • Advise numerous sponsors on fund formations involving buy-outs, venture capital, technology, real estate, and other investment strategies (ranging in fund size from $5 million to $250+ million).
  • Extensive experience with qualified opportunity zone (QOZ) investments.
  • Represent various emerging fund managers on the successful launch of their first-time funds.
  • Represent new sponsors spinning out from an existing institution or group.
  • Counseled the advisory committees and/or specific investors in several investment funds in connection with the transitioning of fund management (whether as part of “cause,” “no fault” or negotiated circumstances).
  • Acted as U.S. counsel to non-U.S. fund sponsors raising capital from U.S. investors and/or making U.S. investments.
  • Advise independent sponsors on the structuring and closing of their deals.
  • Extensive experience assisting clients with forming (or investing) in parallel and/or feeder fund structures.
Team
headshot of team member Sean P. Balkin
Sean P. Balkin Senior Associate sbalkin@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1264
headshot of team member Brian J. Bocketti
Brian J. Bocketti Partner | Team Co-Leader - Banking & Financial Transactions bbocketti@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1278
headshot of team member Jillian E. Deck
Jillian E. Deck Partner | Team Co-Leader - Banking & Financial Transactions jdeck@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1376
headshot of team member Elise M. Edwards
Elise M. Edwards Senior Associate eedwards@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1273
headshot of team member Raymond L. Fink
Raymond L. Fink Partner | Team Co-Leader - Financial Reorganization, Restructuring & Insolvency rfink@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1344
headshot of team member Scott E. Friedman
Scott E. Friedman Chairman | Partner | Team Co-Leader Startups & Venture Capital | Team Co-Leader - Family Business sfriedman@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1231
headshot of team member Donell L. Gibson, Jr.
Donell L. Gibson, Jr. Associate dgibson@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1327
headshot of team member Thomas B. Hughes
Thomas B. Hughes Associate thughes@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1325
headshot of team member Gregory T. Ivancic
Gregory T. Ivancic Partner givancic@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1220
headshot of team member John J. Koeppel
John J. Koeppel Partner | Team Leader - Private Equity jkoeppel@lippes.com 716.262.9330 x1228
headshot of team member Gerald S. Lippes
Gerald S. Lippes Senior Counsel glippes@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1226
headshot of team member William E. Mathias II
William E. Mathias II Senior Counsel wmathias@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1228
headshot of team member Paul A. Mitchell
Paul A. Mitchell Partner pmitchell@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1367
headshot of team member John A. Mueller
John A. Mueller Partner | Team Co-Leader - Financial Reorganization, Restructuring & Insolvency jmueller@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1383
headshot of team member Andrew J. Olek
Andrew J. Olek Senior Associate aolek@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1289
headshot of team member Brendan J. Rich
Brendan J. Rich Partner | Team Leader - Corporate & Securities and Mergers & Acquisitions brich@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1240
headshot of team member Paul J. Schulz
Paul J. Schulz Partner pschulz@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1221
headshot of team member Eliza Friedman  Shea
Eliza Friedman Shea Senior Associate efriedmanshea@lippes.com 872.254.5500 x1281
headshot of team member Michael E. Storck
Michael E. Storck Partner mstorck@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1369
headshot of team member Andrea H. Vossler
Andrea H. Vossler Partner | Team Co-Leader - Startups & Venture Capital | Team Co-Leader - Family Business avossler@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1270