Capabilities Litigation Business & Commercial Litigation
Business & Commercial Litigation
Lippes Mathias Wexler Friedman LLP's Business and Commercial Litigation Team has a long history of representing clients in all types of business-related disputes and litigation. Our attorneys regularly handle disputes across a broad range of industries for public and closely held corporations, as well as for corporate officers, directors and shareholders. Representative clients include those in manufacturing, private equity firms, financial services, energy, real estate development, healthcare, and many more. Whether you or your business requires assistance in a typical business dispute or a complex multi-million-dollar fraud claim, our attorneys have the broad range of experience to assist you in devising a strategy that best suits the issue at hand. Regardless of the type of dispute, our team prides itself on effectively and efficiently staffing and handling each matter with a creative approach. 

Our attorneys regularly practice in state courts, federal courts, and alternative dispute resolution forums across the country and handle all areas of corporate litigation, including, but not limited to the following types of matters:

  • Breach of contract; 
  • Earn-out disputes;
  • Business torts;
  • Brach of fiduciary duty;
  • Tortious interference;
  • Shareholder oppression;
  • Partnership disputes
  • Shareholder derivative;
  • Contractual indemnification;
  • Construction; and
  • Judicial dissolution. 

Recent representative matters include the following:

  • Defending an individual in a tortious interference claim related to a failed real estate development in federal court.
  • Assisting a financial services company to secure a multi-million settlement related to a UCC dispute over collateral in federal court.
  • Representing an engineering and technologies company in an earn-out dispute before a panel of arbitrators. 
  • Assisting a member of a limited liability company dissolve a limited liability company through an action for judicial dissolution. 
  • Representing a real estate investment firm in an action related to an alleged breach of a purchase and sale agreement in federal court.
  • Assisting a financial services company obtain a judgment and pierce the corporate veil in a breach of contract claim.
  • Representing a shareholder in a derivative action obtain an injunction in state court against a business partner who was alleged to have breached their fiduciary duties to the company.

Team
headshot of team member James P. Blenk
James P. Blenk Senior Associate jblenk@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1351
headshot of team member Conor E. Brownell
Conor E. Brownell Partner cbrownell@lippes.com 518.869.9500 x1427
headshot of team member Kevin J. Cross
Kevin J. Cross Managing Partner kcross@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1370
headshot of team member Stephen D. Daly
Stephen D. Daly Senior Associate sdaly@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1246
headshot of team member Mark C. Davis
Mark C. Davis Partner mdavis@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1253
headshot of team member Jonathan D.  Deily
Jonathan D. Deily Senior Counsel jdeily@lippes.com 518.462.0110 x1447
headshot of team member Adam B. Edgecombe
Adam B. Edgecombe Counsel aedgecombe@lippes.com 904.660.0020 X1505
headshot of team member Thomas J. Gaffney
Thomas J. Gaffney Partner | Team Leader - Construction Litigation tgaffney@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1225
headshot of team member Carol E. Heckman
Carol E. Heckman Partner | Team Co-Leader - Indian Law checkman@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1268
headshot of team member H. Leon Holbrook, III
H. Leon Holbrook, III Partner hholbrook@lippes.com 904.660.0020 x1530
headshot of team member Margaret A. Hurley
Margaret A. Hurley Senior Associate mhurley@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1375
headshot of team member Brendan H. Little
Brendan H. Little Partner | Team Leader - Consumer Financial Services Litigation blittle@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1233
headshot of team member Jason Little
Jason Little Partner jlittle@lippes.com 518.462.0110 x1442
headshot of team member Benjamin F. Macaluso
Benjamin F. Macaluso Associate bmacaluso@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1322
headshot of team member Sean M. O'Brien
Sean M. O'Brien Senior Associate sobrien@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1224
headshot of team member Jennifer C. Persico
Jennifer C. Persico Partner | Team Leader - Litigation jpersico@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1350
headshot of team member Christina Piracci
Christina Piracci Associate cpiracci@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1235
headshot of team member Lee M. Redeye
Lee M. Redeye Associate lredeye@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1382
headshot of team member Bethany Ray Reichard
Bethany Ray Reichard Partner breichard@lippes.com 904.660.0020 x1536
headshot of team member John D. Rodgers
John D. Rodgers Senior Counsel jrodgers@lippes.com 518.462.0110 x1441
headshot of team member Richard M. Scherer, Jr.
Richard M. Scherer, Jr. Partner | Team Leader - Business & Commercial Litigation rscherer@lippes.com 716.218.7598 x1355
headshot of team member Tessa R. Scott
Tessa R. Scott Associate tscott@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1321
headshot of team member Sabrina Marcos Smith
Sabrina Marcos Smith Associate smarcossmith@lippes.com 904.660.0020 x1546
headshot of team member Dennis C. Vacco
Dennis C. Vacco Partner | Team Leader - Government & State Attorneys General Investigations dvacco@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1255