Lippes Mathias Wexler Friedman’s lawyers have assisted Canadian businesses and individuals with their U.S. transactions, activities and investments for more than 35 years.  The firm has a Toronto-area office, and several of our lawyers devote the majority of their practices to serving the needs of Canadian clients. 

Our Cross-Border Team has extensive experience with U.S. legal issues frequently faced by Canadians and the solutions to those.

Focus Areas:

  • Agreements – The preparation of agreements for a wide variety of transactions and situations, including “Americanizing” Canadian forms of agreements for U.S. use.
  • Entities – The formation of entities for U.S. activities and investments, and devising entity ownership structures.
  • Estates and Trusts – The preparation of wills, trust agreements and other documents to limit exposure to U.S. estate tax and avoid ancillary probate proceedings.
  • Finance and Banking – Assisting lenders and borrowers with transactions having U.S. aspects, and in the preparation and negotiation of loan and security agreements.
  • Government Investigations and Enforcement Actions – Assisting Canadian firms regarding government investigations and regulatory compliance reviews. 
  • Immigration – We have great familiarity with the immigration issues faced by Canadians engaging in cross-border activities, and assist business personnel and individuals in gaining admission to the U.S.
  • Intellectual Property – Registering intellectual property in the U.S., and assisting with the licensing, transfer and enforcement of intellectual property and rights in the U.S.
  • Labour and Employment – Providing employment advice and assisting with proceedings concerning U.S. employees.
  • Litigation – Assisting with U.S. claims, actions and proceedings.
  • Mergers and Acquisitions – Assisting with all aspects of the purchase and sale of U.S. companies and assets.
  • Private Equity – Advise Canadian investors on U.S. private equity fund formations, investments, and secondary transactions. 
  • Real Estate – Assisting with the acquisition, development, financing, leasing and operation of U.S. properties, including office and industrial buildings, shopping centers, hotels, mixed use and other properties.
  • Securities – Advising Canadians with federal, state and local tax issues arising from their U.S. activities and investments.
  • Tax – Assisting Canadians with federal, state and local tax issues arising from their U.S. activities and investments. 
  • Venture Capital – Assisting with arranging, negotiation and closing of venture capital and emerging company transactions. 
Team
headshot of team member Christina H. Arthurs
Christina H. Arthurs Counsel carthurs@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1378
headshot of team member Sean P. Balkin
Sean P. Balkin Senior Associate sbalkin@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1264
headshot of team member Brian J. Bocketti
Brian J. Bocketti Partner | Team Leader - Banking & Financial Transactions bbocketti@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1278
headshot of team member Kevin J. Cross
Kevin J. Cross Managing Partner kcross@lippes.com O: 716.853.5100 x1370
headshot of team member Thomas J. Keable
Thomas J. Keable Partner | Team Leader - Canada-U.S. Cross Border tkeable@lippes.com 716.218.7563
headshot of team member Elizabeth M. Klarin
Elizabeth M. Klarin Partner eklarin@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1288
headshot of team member John J. Koeppel
John J. Koeppel Partner | Team Leader - Private Equity jkoeppel@lippes.com 716.262.9330 x1228
headshot of team member Eileen M. Martin
Eileen M. Martin Partner | Team Co-Leader - Immigration emartin@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1347
headshot of team member Vincent M. Miranda
Vincent M. Miranda Partner vmiranda@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1277 / 905.319.8964
headshot of team member Paul A. Mitchell
Paul A. Mitchell Partner pmitchell@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1367
headshot of team member John A. Mueller
John A. Mueller Partner | Team Co-Leader - Financial Reorganization, Restructuring & Insolvency jmueller@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1383
headshot of team member Brendan J. Rich
Brendan J. Rich Partner | Team Leader - Corporate & Securities and Mergers & Acquisitions brich@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1240
headshot of team member Charles E. Telford, III
Charles E. Telford, III Partner ctelford@lippes.com 716.218.7572
headshot of team member Dennis C. Vacco
Dennis C. Vacco Partner | Team Leader - Government Investigations & Enforcement Actions dvacco@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1255
headshot of team member Paul F. Wells
Paul F. Wells Partner | Team Leader - Real Estate pwells@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1245
Click here to be directed to our COVID-19 Resource Center