One of Western and Upstate New York’s first law firms to establish a dedicated Cannabis Practice Team, Lippes Mathias LLP helps clients conduct their businesses within the confines of the cannabis industry’s emerging legal requirements by offering a broad range of legal services along with the expertise necessary to navigate the cannabis industry’s complex and rapidly evolving regulatory landscape. 
 
From corporate structuring to real estate and intellectual property matters, Lippes Mathias LLP has a team of experienced attorneys focusing in all pertinent areas of cannabis law since the inception of legalization. Our Cannabis Team has first-hand knowledge of what it takes to operate a successful cannabis business, and given that our dedicated Cannabis Practice Team has been working within the legal cannabis business since the legalization of cannabis, we’re able to provide both legal expertise as well as a curated network of industry players. 
 
Our Cannabis Practice Team can provide legal services in any of the following areas of law involved in the cultivation, processing, manufacturing, distribution, transportation, marketing, and sale of cannabis products:
 
  • State license applications 
  • Regulatory compliance 
  • Real estate and land use matters 
  • Intellectual property, including trademark matters 
  • Banking law compliance 
  • Entity formation 
  • Mergers and acquisitions 
  • Private equity investments 
  • Tribal matters 
  • Government relations 
  • Government investigations and securities enforcement 
  • Franchising 
  • Employment law matters, including workplace policies 
  • Immigration, cross-border, and import/export restrictions 


Team
headshot of team member Scott V. Carroll
Scott V. Carroll Partner | Team Co-Leader - Health Care scarroll@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1368
headshot of team member Hon. Carol E. Heckman (Ret.)
Hon. Carol E. Heckman (Ret.) Partner | Team Co-Leader - Indian Law | Team Leader- Alternative Dispute Resolution checkman@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1268
headshot of team member Thomas B. Hughes
Thomas B. Hughes Senior Associate | Team Co-Leader - Cannabis thughes@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1325
headshot of team member Elizabeth M. Klarin
Elizabeth M. Klarin Partner eklarin@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1288
headshot of team member Christian M. Lovelace
Christian M. Lovelace Partner | Team Leader - Franchising & Licensing; Team Leader - Asset Receivable Management clovelace@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1222
headshot of team member Gregory T.  Measer
Gregory T. Measer Associate gmeaser@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1254
headshot of team member Michael G. Rossetti
Michael G. Rossetti Office Partner-in-Charge, Washington, D.C. | Team Co-Leader - Indian Law | Team Co-Leader – Government & State Attorneys General Investigations mrossetti@lippes.com 202.888.7610 x1601
headshot of team member Joseph W. Schafer
Joseph W. Schafer Associate jschafer@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1394
headshot of team member Richard M. Scherer, Jr.
Richard M. Scherer, Jr. Partner | Team Leader - Business & Commercial Litigation rscherer@lippes.com 716.218.7598
headshot of team member Ryan V.  Stearns
Ryan V. Stearns Partner | Team Co-Leader - Cannabis rstearns@lippes.com 716.853.5100 x1364
headshot of team member Scott E.  Thompson
Scott E. Thompson Partner | Team Co-Leader - Intellectual Property sthompson@lippes.com 332.345.4500 x1459
This website uses cookies to enhance user experience and to analyze traffic. To learn more about cookies and how we use them, please review our Privacy Policy. To continue use of this website, you must provide your consent to its use of cookies by clicking the "Accept" button.